Articles for the Month of March 2017

Richmond College – Crowned as Champions of Singer under 19 division-I Limited Over Tournament

Richmond College recorded their second win of the weekend as they went on to beat Thurstan College by eight wickets in the Singer under 19 division I All Island Limited Over Cricket Tournament. Richmond qualified for the final beating Maliyadewa College again by eight wickets early in the week. Having won the toss Thurstan College captain Kasun Abeyrathne decided to bat first. Richmond Collge was successfull in the first ball of the day when fast bowler Thilanga Udeshana trapped Thurstan Captain right infornt. But Thrstan College was cruising with 30 for 1 in 4.6 overs when they lost their second wicket. Yeshan Wickramarachchi showed some threat as he scored three boundaries in the first over of Dananjaya Lakshan. Yeshan scored 37 runs off 34 balls with one six but was trapped right in front in the first over of Ravishka Wijesiri.Thurstan run rate was over six runs at this stage but slowly started to collapse.Charana Nanayakkara with Nipun Lakshan put on a 52 runs partnership for the fifth wicket but Sandun Mendis was successfull in the 23rd over when he took the two wickets of them in two balls. Thus Thurstan College was all out for 141 runs in 38.1 overs.Thilanga Udeshan took 3 for 29 while Ravishka Wijesiri took 3 for 21.

Richmond College target was reduced to 140 according to DWL. Richmond Collge lost the early wicket of their skipper Kamindu Mendis for just 4 runs in the first over. But Dahnanjaya Lakshan and Adithya Siriwardene put a fantastic 92 run partnership. Dhananjaya Lakshan went on to score a brilliant half century. He scored 61 runs in just 52 balls with 12 boundaries. Next Thaveesha Abishek joined Adithya and Richmond College cruised to victory in just 25.3 overs. Thaveesha Abishek scored 24 runs with two sixes and the last six he scored sealed the victory for Richmond College. Dananjaya Lakshan was adjudged as the man of the match. Read More>>

Thurstan College 141 in 38.1
Yeshan Wickramarachchi 37. Ravishka Wijesiri 3/21, Thilanga Udeshana 3/29
Richmond College 140 in 25.3
Dananjaya Lakshan 61, Adithya Siriwardene 38 no out.Charana Nanayakkara 1/29

Picture courtesy:

Richmond thrash Mahinda

Richmond College recorded a convincing 8 wicket win over Mahinda College during their annual one day limite dover match played at Galle International Cricket Stadium yesterday. Having won the toss Mahinda captain decided to bat first, but lost few early wickets on their way. It was young Navod Paranavithana who stood against Richmond bowlers scoring a half century. Navod scored 66 runs to enable Mahinda College to score a respectable score but was not enough aganst strong Richmond batting line up.
In pursuit of a target of 170, Richmond College got there with more than 16 overs to spare as Sri Lanka youth cap Kamindu Mendis led the run chase with a composed 84 to remain unbeaten when his team reached the victory target.Adithya Siriwardana also chipped in with a useful 38 as the Mahinda College bowlers failed to make inroads to the strong Richmond College batting line up.Sandun Mendis was the most successful bowler picking up three wickets while Avindu Theekshana chipped in with two.

Mahinda College 169 (46.4)
Navod Paranavithana 66, Prameeth Hansika 31, Vinura Dulsara 21, Sandun Mendis 3/30, Avindu Theekshana 2/29

Richmond College 172/2 (33.3)
Kamindu Mendis 84*, Adithya Siriwardena 38

Picture courtesy:

New Secretary for RCOBA

Mr Anil Fonseka has been appointed as the new Secretary of Richomond College Old Boys’ Association during the Annual General Metting held on 19th March 2017. He has held the position of Hony.Secretary of RCOBA twice before and during such time he has contributed immensely towards the success of RCOBA and the school. Mr Fonseka holds the position of  National Head – Agency Sales Force Management of Fairfirst Insurance LTD (Amalgamated company of former Union Assuarance General LTD & Asian Alliance General Insurance LTD). Mr G.J Weerasena was also appointed as the Treasurer of RCOBA. We wish them all the best in all their future endeavours!