Articles for the Month of April 2017

All Island Super A Division under 17 Badminton Championship 2017

Richmond College defeted Ananda College 3-1 to become  the Champions of All Island  Super A Division under 17 Badminton Tournament 2017 which was concluded at Bandarawela today. Richmond had never won  the under 17 Championship before and it is the second occasion within a month that Richmond College defeated Ananda College in a Badminton tournament. Early this month they defeated Ananda College at Royal College to win under 19 Super A Division All Island Championship. Rarliar Richmond College had defeated Nalanda College in the semi final to qualify for the final.
Richmond College team was lead by Kasun Marasena with Mihil Pansilu, Chamath Dias, Vinu Pathirana, Tumalsha Amrasekara, Chrath PIlayperuma and Salila Samarasekara.

Under 19 Singer Trophy 2 day Tournament – Richmond College enter final

Richmond College recorded their place in the final of Under 19 Singer Trophy 2 day Tournament  when they beat Thurstan College by 1 wicket in the semi final which was played at Surrey Ground Maggona today. Thurstan College batting first scored 289. Avindu Theekshana took  5 wickets for 75 while Sandun Mendis took 4 for 74.
The hero of the day was Adithya Siriwardene who scored a magnificient century. He scored 113 while Thaveesha Abishek scored 42. Richmond College will meet Ananda College Colombo in the final.


Badminton under 19 Championship

Richmond College defeted Ananda College 3-1 to record victory in All Island Super A Division under 19 Badminton Championship 2017 which was concluded at Royal College recently. It is reported that Richmond College has won this tournament after 23 years.

Principal of Richmond College elected as the President of SLSBA

Mr Sampath Weragoda, the Principal of Richmond College has been appointed as the President of Sri Lanka School Badminton Association for 2017. He is the second Principal of the college to hold this position. Former Principal of Richmond College Mr E.M.S Ekanayake also held this position few years back. We wish Mr Sampath Weragoda all the very best for a successful year in office.