Richmond College posts a big score despite early setbacks

Final of the Singer under 19 Division 1 Tournament between Richmond College , Galle and Ananda College, Colombo started today at Thurstan College ground Colombo. Richmond were 307 for 8 at the close of first days play.

Having won the toss Kamindu Mendis, Captain of Richmond College elected to bat first and both openers was dismissed cheaply by Anandian fast bowlers. First to go was Kamindu Mendis for 6 when the score was 9 and the other opener Dananjaya Lakshan was out for 12 when the score was 19. Adithya Siriwardana was dismissed for 1 when the score was 21 followed by Chamikara Hewage for no score when the score was 22. Then Thaveesha Abishek and Avindu Theekshana  joined in the middle and this pair took Richmond to the safety adding useful 76 runs for the fifth-wicket.

Just before lunch Thaveesha Abhishek became Supun Waragoda’s second victim after doing his part with a well-made 46 including 5 fours and two sixes.  Avindu Theekshana then built two good partnerships; 36 with Ravishka Wijesiri (21) for the sixth-wicket and 68 with Kasun Tharaka (25) for the seventh ensuring Richmond’s two hundred. Avindu Theekshana’s superb innings came to an end when Waragoda claiming his fourth wicket trapped him LBW for a well-accomplished 80 scored off 160 balls with 10 fours.

Avindu Theekshana’s wicket when the score was 202 opened up Richmond tail but Ananda College bowlers failed to capitalize as richmond’s no 9 sandun Mendis and no 10 Duveen Kalansooriya put up an unbroken partnership of 105 runs to post a massive total of 307 for 8 at the close of first days play. Sandun Mendis was unbeaten on 64 with Duveen Kalansoorya with an unbeaten 36.Supun Waragoda bowled well for Ananda picking up 4 wickets. The majestic fight back of Richmond middle order and tail enders put them in a very commanding position and Ananda batsman will have to fight hard to save the match against strong Richmond bowling attack on a turning wicket.

Richmond College, Galle

307-8 in 95 overs (Avindu Theekshana 80, Sandun Mendis 64*, Thaveesha Abhishek 46, Duveen Kalansuriya 36*, Kasun Tharaka 25, Ravishka Wijesiri 21, Supun Waragoda 4/91, Asel Sigera 2/80)

Read more>>

More articles of the press>>

Leave a reply